First published at Palmyra, New York, in 1830, the Book of Mormon is one of the “Three Standard Books” of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The title page of recent editions includes these words: “Compared with the original manuscript and the Kirtland Edition of 1837, which was carefully re-examined and compared with the original manuscript by Joseph Smith and Oliver Cowdery.”

A variety of books with different formats was produced by the RLDS Church prior to 1908. The “1908 Edition” standardized verses and made a concordance possible for the first time. Chapters follow the numbering system of the 1830 edition. This book is now known as the AV, Authorized Version.

Note that the LDS Church renumbered chapters and verses, so LDS references do not match RLDS books.

The book is produced with hardback, paper, and leather covers, and in a large-print edition. A replica of the 1830 edition is also available. The RLDS Church also published an edition using more modern English and sentence structure in 1966; it is now known as the RAV, Revised Authorized Version.